Michigan Michigan

Divorce Law Guide

Michigan Divorce Overview

Residency Requirement
Living Separate & Apart
Processing Time
Filing Fee
6 months
240 days

The facts about divorce in Michigan

Divorce, or dissolution of marriage, is the legal process of severing a marriage contract, which is overseen by a court of law in the state in which one or both of the divorcing spouses live. The process for getting a divorce and acceptible grounds for divorce vary from state to state.

In Michigan, a divorce can be completed on average in a minimum of 240 days, with court fees of $150.00. The state has divorce residency requirements that require the spouse filing for the divorce to have lived in Michigan for a minimum of six months.

On this page, you can learn about Michigan's grounds for divorce, how the divorce process works, and about other parts of the divorce process, such as Michigan alimony calculation, the property division process and more.

Michigan Divorce Law Summary

What is the Criteria for Divorce?

The state of Michigan, the one needing the divorce must have lived in the state for one year. Once done, the individual wishing a divorce can file the documents with the county court that they reside in.

Michigan does not have a fault or no fault option. They only recognize that the marriage has broken down and a divorce is being sought.

A complaint about divorce may be filed in the circuit court upon the allegation that there has been a breakdown of the marriage relationship to the extent that the objects of matrimony have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved. In the complaint, the plaintiff shall make no other explanation of the grounds for divorce than by the use of the statutory language.

It is important to consult a lawyer with this state as evidence may be required to prove a case to get a divorce in Michigan. A lawyer can help walk a spouse through the process and understand what is needed to improve the chance of success.

Michigan Divorce Guide - Frequently Asked Questions

In state of Michigan a number of factors are taken into account when ending a marriage.

1. Michigan Grounds for Divorce FAQ

Is Michigan a no-fault divorce state?

Michigan allows no-fault divorces, which means that a divorce is granted without establishing the fault of either spouse for causing the divorce. Grounds for a no-fault divorce in Michigan may be "irreconcilable differences", or similar grounds.

The state of Michigan is exclusively a no-fault divorce state, which means that the only grounds for divorce offered on divorce applications are considered no-fault.

Does Michigan allow at-fault divorces?

Michigan does not support traditional at-fault grounds for divorce, instead offering blanket divorce grounds that do not require either spouse to be proved to be at-fault when filing for divorce.

Does the state of Michigan allow incompatibility as grounds for divorce?

Yes, Michigan does allow incompatibility to be used as grounds for having a divorce.

Can you get a divorce in Michigan for living separate and apart?

In divorce law, "living seperate and apart" refers to married spouses who are living separate from each other, not engaging in a traditional marital relationship, and do not intend to repair the marriage.

Michigan does not allow a divorce to be granted solely on the grounds of living seperate and apart from your spouse. You must instead file for divorce under one of Michigan's accepted grounds for divorce.

2. Michigan Divorce Process FAQ

Does state of Michigan allow legal separation?

Legal separation (otherwise known as "judicial separation") is a legal process that enables spouses to be de facto separated while remaining legally married.

In some cases, Michigan will grant a judicial separation court order to a married couple who wishes to live separately. This order may settle issues generally handled in a divorce such as property division and alimony. A legal separation may be followed up by a full divorce, or the spouses may later reconcile and end the separation while remaining legally married.

What's the difference between a divorce and an annulment in Michigan?

While a divorce is the process of exiting a legally valid marriage, an annulment is the process of rendering a marriage null and void. An annulment makes it legally as if a marriage never took place to begin with.

Generally, annulment is used to conclude a marriage that should not have been legally recognized in the first place, such as a marriage where one of the spouses was unable to consent (by virtue of being underage, due to mental incapacity, or even intoxication), a marriage that was entered into under duress or via fraudulent means, or when one of the spouses was already legally married.

How long do I have to live in in the state of Michigan to get a divorce?

The state of Michigan requires that spouses suing for divorce to have lived in the state for a minimum of six months prior to filing divorce papers. Otherwise, Michigan courts are not considered to have jurisdiction over the divorce case.

What is the filing fee for a divorce in Michigan?

The court fees for filing the paperwork for a basic divorce in a Michigan court is $150.00. However, the total costs for a divorce can be much higher - especially in the case of a contested divorce, where attorney fees and mediation costs average from $15,000 to $20,000 or more.

How long does it take to get a divorce in Michigan?

If the process moves along without holdups, the paperwork for a divorce in Michigan can be processed in a minimum of 240 days. However, if the spouses are not in agreement about the divorce process, a contested divorce can take significantly longer.

3. Michigan General Divorce FAQ

Can my spouse stop me from getting a divorce?

Even if one spouse is opposed to getting a divorce, they cannot stop their partner from filing for and receiving a divorce in Michigan. While filing a non-contested joint petition for divorce speeds up the process, either spouse can file for divorce individually at any time.

| State Law Official Text

** This Document Provided By MaritalLaws **
Source: http://www.maritallaws.com/states/michigan/divorce