Connecticut Connecticut

Divorce Law Guide

Connecticut Divorce Overview

Residency Requirement
Living Separate & Apart
Processing Time
Filing Fee
6 months
18 months
90 days

The facts about divorce in Connecticut

Divorce, or dissolution of marriage, is the legal process of severing a marriage contract, which is overseen by a court of law in the state in which one or both of the divorcing spouses live. The process for getting a divorce and acceptible grounds for divorce vary from state to state.

In Connecticut, a divorce can be completed on average in a minimum of 90 days, with court fees of $225.00. The state has divorce residency requirements that require the spouse filing for the divorce to have lived in Connecticut for a minimum of six months.

On this page, you can learn about Connecticut's grounds for divorce, how the divorce process works, and about other parts of the divorce process, such as Connecticut alimony calculation, the property division process and more.

Connecticut Divorce Law Summary

What are the Grounds for Divorce?

The state of Connecticut has a few requirements that must be met before a divorce is considered. If the married couple wishes to have a no fault divorce, there are a few steps they must meet. Their marriage must be considered beyond repair, and they have to be separated and not living together continuously.

There is also a fault option that is available in this state. The courts only recognize adultery, willful desertion for one year with complete neglect of their responsibilities, seven years absence where no contact has been made, fraudulent contract, habitual intemperance, sentenced to imprisonment for life, and legal confinement due to mental illness.

Once the appropriate paperwork is filed in the proper county courthouse, the courts will go through the process of working out alimony, the division of property and other steps necessary. It is important that through this process a lawyer is considered as Connecticut has a lot of paperwork and steps required to get to the divorce decree.

Connecticut Divorce Guide - Frequently Asked Questions

In state of Connecticut a number of factors are taken into account when ending a marriage.

1. Connecticut Grounds for Divorce FAQ

Is Connecticut a no-fault divorce state?

Connecticut allows no-fault divorces, which means that a divorce is granted without establishing the fault of either spouse for causing the divorce. Grounds for a no-fault divorce in Connecticut may be "irreconcilable differences", or similar grounds.

Does Connecticut allow at-fault divorces?

In addition to no-fault grounds for divorce, Connecticut is a fault divorce state which provides the option to file for a traditional at-fault divorce. Suing for an at-fault divorce alleges that the filer's spouse is the cause of the divorce due to engaging in one of Connecticut's at-fault divorce grounds, such as adultery, abuse, or insanity.

In some cases, an at-fault divorce is pursued because it can entitle the suing spouse to a greater share of marital property or even punitive alimony payments if their partner's fault is proven. If their spouse contests these allegations, they may be challenged in court, which can lead to a lengthy and expensive legal process.

Does the state of Connecticut allow incompatibility as grounds for divorce?

Yes, Connecticut does allow incompatibility to be used as grounds for having a divorce.

Can you get a divorce in Connecticut for living separate and apart?

In divorce law, "living seperate and apart" refers to married spouses who are living separate from each other, not engaging in a traditional marital relationship, and do not intend to repair the marriage.

In Connecticut, married couples who have been living separate and apart for a minimum of eighteen months may be granted a divorce on these grounds when sued for by either spouse.

2. Connecticut Divorce Process FAQ

Does state of Connecticut allow legal separation?

Legal separation (otherwise known as "judicial separation") is a legal process that enables spouses to be de facto separated while remaining legally married.

In some cases, Connecticut will grant a judicial separation court order to a married couple who wishes to live separately. This order may settle issues generally handled in a divorce such as property division and alimony. A legal separation may be followed up by a full divorce, or the spouses may later reconcile and end the separation while remaining legally married.

What's the difference between a divorce and an annulment in Connecticut?

While a divorce is the process of exiting a legally valid marriage, an annulment is the process of rendering a marriage null and void. An annulment makes it legally as if a marriage never took place to begin with.

Generally, annulment is used to conclude a marriage that should not have been legally recognized in the first place, such as a marriage where one of the spouses was unable to consent (by virtue of being underage, due to mental incapacity, or even intoxication), a marriage that was entered into under duress or via fraudulent means, or when one of the spouses was already legally married.

How long do I have to live in in the state of Connecticut to get a divorce?

The state of Connecticut requires that spouses suing for divorce to have lived in the state for a minimum of six months prior to filing divorce papers. Otherwise, Connecticut courts are not considered to have jurisdiction over the divorce case.

What is the filing fee for a divorce in Connecticut?

The court fees for filing the paperwork for a basic divorce in a Connecticut court is $225.00. However, the total costs for a divorce can be much higher - especially in the case of a contested divorce, where attorney fees and mediation costs average from $15,000 to $20,000 or more.

How long does it take to get a divorce in Connecticut?

If the process moves along without holdups, the paperwork for a divorce in Connecticut can be processed in a minimum of 90 days. However, if the spouses are not in agreement about the divorce process, a contested divorce can take significantly longer.

3. Connecticut General Divorce FAQ

Can my spouse stop me from getting a divorce?

Even if one spouse is opposed to getting a divorce, they cannot stop their partner from filing for and receiving a divorce in Connecticut. While filing a non-contested joint petition for divorce speeds up the process, either spouse can file for divorce individually at any time.

Connecticut permits spouses to sue for an at-fault divorce, and in this case their partner can contest the allegations in court. A non-fault petition for divorce, however, can generally not be contested by an unwilling spouse in Connecticut.

Does Connecticut have any limitations on remarriage after a divorce?

Connecticut has no mandatory waiting period between the finalization of a divorce and either of the ex-spouses getting remarried. Remarriage following a divorce may affect the continued payment of alimony.

What is the divorce rate in Connecticut?

According to the most recent CDC study, the yearly divorce rate in Connecticut is 8 per 1,000 total population. The national divorce rate is 6.9 per 1,000 total population. Various studies suggest that nationwide, 30% to 50% of all marriages end in divorce.

Does Connecticut recognize same sex divorces?

Connecticut recognizes both same sex marriages and same sex divorces. The process of getting a seme-sex divorce is the same as a heterosexual divorce.

| State Law Official Text

** This Document Provided By MaritalLaws **